Sundays – A Short Film

Since I started writing this blog I’ve basically been going in a cycle of documentary, movie, television show and then the cycle continues. I think about now I am on the “film” category and I would usually watch a full length movie and discuss it, but earlier today one of my friends recommended a short film for me to watch, and I thought it would be the perfect thing for me to critique. I don’t know how many people have actually watched stuff based off of what I critique, but this one is roughly fifteen minutes long and I will include a link to the film at the bottom of the page.

My first impression of the movie? WOW. It was visually stunning. I found a good 95% of the film to be beautifully shot and the special effects were done incredibly well. A few elements were obviously computer generated, but some of the graphics blended in flawlessly with the real life elements in the film. Even without the special effects, the movie was shot and edited together extremely well. Both visually and through sound there is a progression through the film that starts crisp and clear but becomes more disjointed later on, and it really helps take the viewer on a journey that reflects what the person is watching. The first few minutes of the film were silent and had the movie remained that way, I think it would have still been as equally enjoyable. The music score that accompanied pretty much the entire film was captivating and really drew me in. Up until the protagonist of the film was introduced, I thought the movie was going to slowly show how the entire world was going to be affected by destruction, and with the sound and visuals, I would have been fine with that and I could probably have sat through a film twice as long if that was the case.

There were a few things that I was not fond of in the film. At one point the narration mentions a line about “every man”, which reminded me of a play I read in college with the same title. It is a morality play from roughly the 1500’s that focuses on the journey of the character Everyman (which quite obviously is meant to reflect every person), and it shows the final stages of life and what he needs to go through before he can finally lay down peacefully. While the film does not entirely go through that same plot, I think the protagonist in the film was meant to portray a character that the viewer could identify with, and for some reason I could not identify with him. Maybe it was the acting or the journey of the character, but it just was not as inclusive as it could have been in reference to the “every man” line. Part of the flaw may have come in the ending. I do not want to spoil any of the story, but I felt like the story made an abrupt shift at the end and it left  me unsatisfied. I had been watching this journey waiting to see what happened and then it just ended. After several science courses and watching a few programs that discuss what would happen if Earth was hit by falling debris, some of the film did not logically make sense. With debris falling from the sky, most of it would get burned up as it was falling through the atmosphere, but what remained after would create a large impact that could potentially demolish entire cities. While it makes sense why the filmmakers did in the film, if they would have made the debris more destructive, it would have added more the realistic feel the film had.

Even though I have a large paragraph describing things that I did not like about the film, I would still rate it a 8/10. If anyone reading this as fifteen minutes to spare and likes things related to a dystopian style future, I think you would enjoy this. Even if you are not a huge fan of that, I would recommend this movie simply for the beauty of the special effects and visuals.

Here is a link: https://player.vimeo.com/video/122325664

Leave a Reply

